Loos-en-Gohelle: 20 years of sustainable development policy, heading towards transition!

Photovoltaic solar panels at the foot of a slagheap

Photovoltaic solar panels at the foot of a slagheap

Published by Guillaume Maciel on 08/01/2013

Loos-en-Gohelle (French department of Pas-de-Calais) has been in complete mutation for two decades. This Nord-Pas-de-Calais town, with a population of 7,000 is deeply marked by its mining history, as the 146-meter high slagheaps illustrate[1]. It manages a complex legacy: the collapse of its economy, the disintegration of the social fabric, precariousness [2], environmental scars [3], an authoritarian culture…

The town council, in place since 1997, has decided to make a break with all these reminders of a non-sustainable past, elected. This is implemented through a deliberate sustainable development policy leading to a greater empowerment of the inhabitants. The method: experimentation and innovation, focusing on the active contribution of citizens [4]. And it works! The list headed by the mayor and regional councilor Jean-François Caron was reelected in 2008 with 82.5% of votes: it is massively supported by its citizens. Loos-en-Gohelle is today one of the foremost proponents of environmental innovation in France and a pioneer of energy transition. Flashback to some emblematic actions.

From eco-construction to renovation

Energy savings are the foundation of the strategies against the precariousness of energy supplies and in favor of the preservation of resources. Loos-en-Gohelle has launched significant eco-construction programs, the most remarkable being:

  • Le Chênelet: 6 social/affordable housing structures (PLUS energy plan) built in 2009; the energy target is 45 kWh/m2/year;
  • All council owned buildings eco-built or eco-renovated;
  • The VillAvenir project [5]: 6 experimental houses with high energy performances using 100 different types of technology, built in 2009 by the Fédération Française du Bâtiment (FFB) then retroceded to a registered social landlord…

The moment has now come for thermal rehabilitation of old constructions. The town practises a policy focused on the renovation of existing miners’ housing [6]. It will soon be home to a professional training center for careers in eco-construction run by the Fondation des apprentis d’Auteuil.

Saving, creating energy… and activities

The town is now heading for a new milestone: electric autonomy. There are projects which should enable the town to provide for its needs. One of the oldest, the photovoltaic plant nestled between the slagheaps, produces 63,000 kWh/ year. The church roof has also been fitted with solar panels. They produce an amount of energy equal to the consumption of two households (32,000 kWh/ year) and will generate a CO2 reduction of 2.9 tons per year. Similarly, the roofs of a number of private houses have been fitted with panels, with an average production of 86,000 kWh per year [7]. Wind power has not been forgotten and there is a project for the construction of 6 wind turbines ; these will produce a total of 9.2 million kWh. Discussions with Enercoop (national energy cooperative) are underway for electricity sales.

The town also hosts a test center for 24 solar technologies working in collaboration with the region’s engineering schools. This R&D and training platform will count 60 mobile or fixed structures to hold 1,600 m² of photovoltaic captors. The creation of a development center for eco-companies benefitted from the support of the Conseil Régional; this center, the CD2E brings together over 600 eco-companies, 150 of which are in the field of renewable energies. This economic intelligence tool aids the development of the sectors and the emergence of innovative strategies and clusters. [8]

To summarize, Loos-en-Gohelle’s success rests upon four pillars: A strong urban development, economic innovation strategies, R&D and training structures, all located in a remodeled mining site, among the World Heritage UNESCO sites, the culture and memory of which have been re-appropriated by man. This human dimension is essential to the success of the projects. It proves that when inhabitants understand the reasons for policies implemented and are closely associated with them, a whole territory advances in the right direction.

[1] The highest in Europe, higher even than the Cheops pyramid.

[2] Structural unemployment rate 3 points above national average.

[3] The town possesses half the regional surface of brownfields and faces substantial water pollution and treatment issues.

[4] Notably via the creation of an online collaborative citizen space, citoyentic.fr.

[5] Partners:FFB, CD2E, Maisons et Cités…; total budget:€ 1.9m (1.9 million Euros); the extent of the operation: : an engineering house and 6 mining houses.The aim is then to generalize this to the 70,000 mining houses in the town.

[6] Project Rehafutur among others.

[7] 30 solar energy subsidies have already been attributed to individuals.

[8] Business incubator or groups within the same sector, generally within a job pool.

Loos-en-Gohelle : 20 ans de politique développement durable, cap sur la transition !

Panneaux solaires photovoltaïque au pied d'un terril

Panneaux solaires photovoltaïque au pied d'un terril

Publié par Guillaume Maciel le 08/01/2013

Depuis deux décennies, Loos-en-Gohelle (62) est en mutation. Cette commune de 7000 habitants du Nord-Pas-de-Calais, marquée par son passé minier, avec ses terrils culminant à 146 mètres de hauteur [1], gère un lourd héritage : effondrement de l’économie, délitement social et précarité [2], séquelles environnementales [3], culture autoritaire…

Autant de vestiges d’un passé non durable avec lequel l’équipe municipale, en place depuis 1997, a souhaité rompre via une politique de développement durable volontaire et orientée vers une reprise en main de leur destin par les habitants. La méthode : expérimenter, innover, en s’appuyant sur la participation active des citoyens [4]. Et ça marche ! Réélue en 2008 avec 82,5 %, la liste emmenée par le maire et conseiller régional Jean-François Caron, bénéficie du soutien massif de ses administrés. Loos-en-Gohelle est aujourd’hui l’un des postes avancés de l’innovation écologique en France et une pionnière de la transition énergétique. Retour sur quelques actions emblématiques.

De l’éco-construction à la rénovation

Les économies d’énergie sont le socle des actions de lutte contre la précarité énergétique et en faveur de la préservation des ressources. Depuis 1997, Loos-en-Gohelle a lancé de vastes programmes d’éco-construction, dont les plus marquants sont :

  • le Chênelet : 6 logements à caractère très social (dispositif PLUS) construits en 2009, avec un objectif énergétique de à 45 kWh/m2/an ;
  • la totalité des bâtiments communaux éco-construits ou éco-rénovés ;
  • le projet VillAvenir [5] : 6 maisons expérimentales à haute performance énergétique utilisant 100 technologies différentes, construites en 2009 par la Fédération Française du bâtiment (FFB) puis rétrocédées à un bailleur social…

L’heure est désormais à la réhabilitation thermique de l’ancien. La commune mène une politique d’aide à la rénovation de l’habitat minier existant [6]. Elle hébergera bientôt un centre de formation aux métiers de l’éco-construction de la Fondation des apprentis d’Auteuil.

Economiser, créer de l’énergie… et de l’activité

La ville vise un nouveau cap : l’autonomie en électricité. Des projets devraient permettre à la commune de couvrir ses besoins. L’un des plus anciens, la centrale photovoltaïque au pied des terrils, produit 63 000 kWh par an. Des panneaux solaires ont aussi été installés sur le toit de l’église. Ils produisent l’équivalent de la consommation de 12 ménages (32 000 kWh par an) et généreront une économie de 2,9 tonnes de CO2 par an. De même, les toits de plusieurs maisons particulières se sont couverts de panneaux, produisant en moyenne 86 000 kWh par an [7]. Le vent n’a pas été oublié avec un projet de 6 éoliennes qui produiront ensemble 9,2 millions de kWh. Des discussions sont en cours avec Enercoop pour la vente de l’électricité.

La commune abrite également un centre de test de 24 technologies solaires où collaborent les écoles d’ingénieurs de la région. Cette plateforme de R&D et de formation comprendra 60 structures fixes et mobiles servant de support à 1600 m2 de capteurs photovoltaïques. L’appui du Conseil régional a aussi favorisé la création d’un centre de développement des éco-entreprises, le CD2E, regroupant plus de 600 éco-entreprises, dont 150 dans les EnR. Cet outil d’intelligence économique accompagne le développement des filières et l’émergence de stratégies innovantes et de clusters. [8]

En résumé, le succès de Loos-en-Gohelle repose sur 4 piliers : fort développement de la ville, des outils d’innovation économique, des structures de R&D et de formation, le tout sur un site minier réinvesti, inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco, dont les hommes se sont réappropriés la culture et la mémoire. Cette dimension humaine est essentielle dans la réussite des projets. Elle prouve que lorsque les habitants perçoivent le sens des politiques menées, et qu’ils y sont étroitement associés, c’est tout un territoire qui avance dans la bonne direction.

[1] Les plus hauts d’Europe, dépassant même la pyramide de Kheops.

[2] Taux de chômage structurellement supérieur de 3 points à la moyenne nationale.

[3] La ville possède la moitié du stock régional de friches industrielles et connaît de graves problèmes de gestion des eaux et d’assainissement.

[4] Notamment via la création d’un espace collaboratif citoyen en ligne, citoyentic.fr.

[5] Partenaires : FFB, CD2E, Maisons et Cités… ; budget total : 1,9 millions d’euros ; périmètre d’opération : une maison d’ingénieur et 6 logements miniers. Le but est ensuite de généraliser aux 70 000 logements miniers de la ville.

[6] Projet Réhafutur entre autres.

[7] 30 subventions aux énergies solaires ont déjà été attribuées à des particuliers.

[8] Regroupement ou pépinière d'entreprises du même secteur, généralement sur un bassin d'emploi.